CricketNewsT20 World Cup Women

2023 T20 Women’s World Cup Semi FinalistS Confirmed

The teams who will play in the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 knockout stage are confirmed. Newlands in Cape Town will host both semi-finals, and the four teams will compete for spots in the final at the same venue on Sunday.

The semi-finalists are four of the five top-ranked teams in the world after a fascinating group stage concluded on Tuesday.

The Last Semi-finalist

South Africa was the last team confirmed for the semi-finals after a 10-wicket victory against Bangladesh on February 22. It was a much-needed win for South Africa after a rough start to the tournament. With a Net Run Rate (+0.738) better than New Zealand(+0.138), the hosts only needed two points to qualify. They will be playing against England in the semi-finals.

First Semi-Finalist

Defending champions Australia showed a brilliant performance in their first match and reached the semi-finals with zero losses. They were the first team confirmed as the semi-finalist of the 2023 tournament after a six-wicket victory against South Africa on February 19. As a fan favorite, many are rooting for Australia to lift the World Cup trophy. They will be playing against India.

England’s Qualification

A record win by 114 runs against Pakistan landed England the second semi-finalist of the tournament. Four wins from four and the best net run rate in the tournament had the team ending first in the Group 2 standings. During the World Cup, England’s team proved to have formidable batters and an aggressive attack that took down many teams. Because of their strong players, their knockout match against South Africa is sure to be an exciting one.

Play & Win J7Sports

India’s Qualification

India proceeded to the semi-finals following a victory against Ireland on February 20, thanks to a superior net run rate( +0.253). The team ended 2nd in the group standings with three wins out of four matches. Their only loss in the tournament so far was against England by 11 runs.

Past World Cup Semi-Finals

The first semi-final match will be between Australia and India. The last time India played Australia in a semi-final of a World Cup was in 2017. India had won the semi-final clash by 117 runs and knocked out Australia of the ODI World Cup before finishing as the runners-up.

Meanwhile, the last time South Africa and England faced each other in a World Cup was in 2022. England had defeated South Africa by 100 runs in their final group stage match and was one of the four semi-finalists.

Last Time Semi-Finalists Won World Cup

In the 2022 T20 Women’s World Cup, Australia won against England by 71 runs. England had last won the World Cup in 2017 by 9 runs against India. India and South Africa have never won any World Cup, but India has reached the finals more than once, while South Africa only went as far as the semi-finals.

Once the finalists are confirmed for the 2023 ICC T20 Women’s World Cup, they will be competing for the trophy on February 26 at Newlands in Cape Town.

Related Articles

Back to top button