Devon Conway Included in New Zealand’s 2024 T20 World Cup Squad Led by Kane Williamson

New Zealand Cricket has unveiled its provisional 15-man squad for the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup, featuring the return of Devon Conway and Kane Williamson’s leadership. However, the squad suffered a setback as fast bowler Adam Milne was ruled out due to an ankle injury requiring surgery.

Led by skipper Kane Williamson, the squad boasts experienced campaigners such as Tim Southee and Trent Boult, with Southee set to feature in his seventh T20 World Cup. Notably, Rachin Ravindra and Matt Henry are the only members yet to make their appearance in the prestigious tournament.

Conway, who recently recovered from a thumb injury, has been named the first-choice wicketkeeper and opener for New Zealand. Despite missing out on the IPL due to his injury, Conway has been training with Chennai Super Kings in India to prepare for the World Cup campaign.

Williamson returns to lead the side after missing recent T20I series due to personal reasons and IPL commitments. However, the absence of Adam Milne, sidelined for 10 to 12 weeks following ankle surgery, has impacted the squad selection process.

New Zealand coach Gary Stead acknowledged the challenge of finalizing the squad, considering Milne’s injury and Kyle Jamieson’s unavailability due to back issues. While Finn Allen has recovered from a back injury, selectors opted for a balanced squad featuring experienced players.

Stead highlighted the emergence of younger players during the Pakistan tour, underscoring the depth in New Zealand cricket. While acknowledging the disappointment for some players left out of the squad, Stead emphasized the opportunity for future inclusion in upcoming tournaments.

Selectors discussed the possibility of recalling veteran batters Colin Munro and Martin Guptill but ultimately stuck with the current group, prioritizing continuity and recent performances.

With the squad finalized, New Zealand aims to make a strong impression at the T20 World Cup, banking on the experience of seasoned campaigners and the talent of emerging stars.

The provisional squad comprises:

  • Kane Williamson (c)
  • Finn Allen
  • Trent Boult
  • Michael Bracewell
  • Mark Chapman
  • Devon Conway
  • Lockie Ferguson
  • Matt Henry
  • Daryl Mitchell
  • Jimmy Neesham
  • Glenn Phillips
  • Rachin Ravindra
  • Mitchell Santner
  • Ish Sodhi
  • Tim Southee
  • Ben Sears (travelling reserve)

Related Articles

Back to top button