Harmanpreet Kaur to Lead Mumbai Indians in WPL 2023

Mumbai Indians, the reigning Indian Premier League (IPL) champions, have announced the appointment of Harmanpreet Kaur as the captain of its women’s team ahead of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) inaugural season. 

Harmanpreet Kaur Achievements

Kaur is a star player in the Indian national team and has been leading the side with great aplomb. She is also an Arjuna Awardee and holds several records to her name.

The Indian skipper has played 151 T20Is for India, scoring 3,058 runs at an average of 28.05, and has taken 32 wickets with the best bowling figures of 4/23. Kaur is known for her aggressive style of play and has been influential in showcasing the best of Indian cricket to the world. 

The Arjuna Awardee also holds the impressive record for the highest individual score in a knockout game in a Women’s World Cup match with a staggering 171.


Kaur’s Captaincy Assignment

Bought by MI for a whopping Rs 1.8 crore at the WPL auction, Harmanpreet is ready to lead her team to victory. And as the first Indian to play in T20 leagues across the world, she is sure to showcase the best of Indian cricket to the global audience. 

Harmanpreet has even played against MI’s head coach, the legendary Charlotte Edwards, and captained the team’s mentor and bowling coach, Jhulan Goswami.

The Mumbai Indians’ coaching team comprises some of the most experienced names in the sport. Charlotte Edwards is the Head Coach, Jhulan Goswami is the Bowling Coach and Mentor, Devieka Palshikaar is the Batting Coach, and Lydia Greenway is the Fielding Coach.

The team will be led by Harmanpreet Kaur and comprises Nat Sciver-Brunt, Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Yastika Bhatia, Heather Graham, Isabelle Wong, Amanjot Kaur, Dhara Gujjar, Saika Ishaque, Hayley Matthews, Chloe Tryon, Humairaa Kaazi, Priyanka Bala, Sonam Yadav, Neelam Bisht, and Jintimani Kalita.

Nita M Ambani, the owner of Mumbai Indians, expressed her delight at the appointment of Kaur as the captain of the women’s team. She said, “We are thrilled to have Harmanpreet as the captain of Mumbai Indians’ first-ever women’s cricket team. As the national captain, she has led the Indian Women’s team to some of their most exciting wins. And I am sure that with Charlotte and Jhulan’s support, she will inspire our MI women’s team to play their best cricket, display a sense of pride, and bring even more glory to women in sports.”

Mumbai Indians and 2023 WPL

Mumbai Indians play their first match of the WPL season against Gujarat Giants on March 4, 2023, at the DY Patil Stadium. The fans can’t wait to see Harmanpreet Kaur and her team play the fearless and entertaining MI brand of cricket. The stage is set for an exciting season of women’s cricket, and Mumbai Indians are determined to make their presence felt in the league.

The Women’s Premier League, a franchise-based T20 cricket league for women, is set to begin its first season on March 4, 2023. The league, organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India, is also known as TATA WPL 2023 due to sponsorship reasons. The tournament features several women’s teams competing against each other for the championship.

Play & Win J7Sports

Related Articles

Back to top button