India Qualifies For Women’s T20 World Cup 2024

India has secured automatic qualification for the upcoming 2024 Women’s T20 World Cup, thanks to their impressive performance in the recently concluded tournament held in South Africa. The Indian team finished in the top three of their group, which granted them a spot among the eight automatic qualifiers for the event to be held in Bangladesh.

Other Qualifiers

Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa finished as the top three teams in Group 1 during the recently concluded Women’s T20 World Cup, earning them automatic qualification for the 2024 event.

Similarly, England, India, and the West Indies made it from Group 2. Pakistan secured the final spot in the top eight by being the next highest-ranked team in the Women’s T20I team rankings as of February 27, 2023.

The ninth edition of the tournament promises to be an exciting event with such fierce competition.

Qualifiers Details

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced that a global qualifier scheduled in early 2024 will determine which two teams will claim the remaining available spots. The qualifier promises to be a fiercely contested event, with teams from around the world vying for a spot in the prestigious tournament.

Sadly, Sri Lanka and Ireland, who participated in this year’s tournament, did not make it to the direct qualifiers. Sri Lanka currently holds the eighth position in the ICC Women’s T20I Team Rankings, while Ireland is ranked 10th. Though they were unable to secure an automatic spot, they still have a chance to qualify through the Global Qualifier.

Play & Win J7Sports

The ninth edition of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup tournament is set to take place in Bangladesh from September to October 2024. The defending champions of the tournament are Australia.

In the final of the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023, Australia emerged victorious over South Africa to claim its sixth title, setting a new record. This win also marked their second hat trick win, with their previous hat trick occurring in 2010, 2012, and 2014, and again in 2018, 2020, and 2023.

What’s Next for the Women’s Cricket Teams

Following the Women’s T20 World Cup 2023, the next big competition is the Women’s Premier League starting on March 4. Recently, Australian opener Beth Mooney was named the captain of the Gujarat Giants. They will be playing the opening match of the league against the Mumbai Indians.

The WPL was first introduced in 2019 by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to promote and develop women’s cricket in the country. The league features some of the best players from India and around the world, with six teams competing in a round-robin format followed by knockout stages.

Over the years, it served as a platform for emerging talent and provided exposure to top-level competition.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is set to organize the inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League, also known as TATA WPL 2023, due to sponsorship reasons. This upcoming season is scheduled to be held in a Twenty20 franchise cricket format and will be the first of its kind for women’s cricket.

Related Articles

Back to top button