Arsenal Sweeps London Football Awards

It’s official, Martin Odegaard has just been named the Premier League Player of The Year at the London Football Awards! The Arsenal captain has been a force to be reckoned with this season, leading his team’s charge toward their first league title in nearly two decades. 


With 10 goals and six assists to his name, it’s no wonder he beat off stiff competition from some of the best players in the league, including Harry Kane, Ivan Toney, Aleksandar Mitrovic, and even his team-mate Bukayo Saka!


In his acceptance speech, Odegaard gave credit where credit was due, saying, “I just want to share this with the whole team. It’s great to see the club being recognized with all the awards. I think it shows how far we’ve come as a club, and what we’re doing this year is very special.” 


And speaking of Saka, he too had reason to celebrate as he took home the Young Player of The Year award for the second time, following his triumph in 2021.

Your #LFA23 manager and young player of the year!❤️@Arsenal | @BukayoSaka87 | @Willow_Fdn

— London Football Awards (@TheLFAOfficial) March 13, 2023

Other Arsenal Awardees

But it wasn’t just the players that received recognition at the awards ceremony. Arsenal’s goalkeeper Aaron Ramsdale was named Goalkeeper of The Year, while their manager Mikel Arteta won the manager’s prize. 

Arteta was quick to acknowledge the contribution of his players, staff, and fans, saying, “I would like to thank you for the award, for all my colleagues, all the staff, everyone at the club that inspires and supports me, and obviously all the supporters that support our club and football in general.”

And speaking of supporters, Arsenal fans must be feeling over the moon right now as their team sits at the top of the Premier League table, five points clear of their nearest rivals. The Gunners’ latest triumph was a convincing 3-0 victory over Fulham, a result that would have put a big smile on the faces of both Odegaard and Saka.


Non-Arsenal Awardees

Player of the Year 🤝 Young Player of the Year

Chelsea at tonight's London Football Awards! 😎

— Chelsea FC Women (@ChelseaFCW) March 13, 2023

The award night was not just about Arsenal, however. West Ham United legend Mark Noble was awarded Outstanding Contribution to London Football, marking his incredible 18-year career with the club. And Chelsea, the reigning champions of the Women’s Super League, had plenty to cheer about too. Sam Kerr was named Women’s Player of the Year, while Lauren James won Women’s Young Player of the Year.


Leah Williamson and Beth Mead from Arsenal also received the Power of Football Award, which was introduced to recognize outstanding work within the game. The award was given to the Lionesses squad for their inspirational achievements in lifting England’s first major trophy since 1966. 


Williamson promised that the team would continue to do what they’re doing and maybe even add another trophy to their collection in the upcoming World Cup in New Zealand this summer! 


The London Football Awards is an annual event that celebrates the best footballing achievements from the capital over the previous 12 months, while raising money for the Willow Foundation. 


Following the awards, Arsenal faces a tough Europa League encounter against Sporting Lisbon on Thursday before hosting Crystal Palace on the weekend.


Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button