CricketNewsT20 World Cup Women

Australia Wins Their 6th Women’s World Cup

Australia has won the Women’s T20 World Cup title for the sixth time after defeating South Africa in Cape Town. The team’s victory is thanks to Beth Mooney, who top-scored with an unbeaten 74 as the team scored 156/6.

While a fantastic bowling display saw South Africa struggle in their chase, ultimately falling short of their target by 20 runs. Australia has now won three titles under the captaincy of Meg Lanning, having won the tournament in 2018, 2020, and 2023.


Awesome Australia have done it 🏆

They become Women’s #T20WorldCup champions for the sixth time! #AUSvSA | #TurnItUp

— T20 World Cup (@T20WorldCup) February 26, 2023

What Happened at the Match

The match had a packed crowd, and the atmosphere was electric, with South African supporters rallying behind their national team in the first-ever senior World Cup final. South Africa took to the field after being asked to bowl first by the Australian captain, Meg Lanning.

After a few tense overs, Australia’s openers settled in and began to build momentum. Alyssa Healy was the first wicket to fall, caught by Nadine de Klerk off the bowling of Kapp. The decision to promote Ash Gardner up the order paid off, with the all-rounder smashing consecutive sixes and pushing the scoring rate higher. Australia looked set to take the game away from South Africa, but Chloe Tryon broke the stand, sending Gardner packing for 29 from 21 balls.

Australia continued to push with their flexible batting line-up, pushing Grace Harris up the order. Harris struggled to make an impact and was caught by Nonlululeko Mlaba for 10 from 9 balls. Meg Lanning, coming in at number five, added just 10 from 11 before being caught off Kapp. Australia looked for a big finish, and ten runs off the first two balls of the final over put them in an excellent position. However, Shabnim Ismail removed Ellyse Perry and Georgia Wareham off consecutive balls, setting a target of 157 to win.

Play & Win J7Sports

South Africa’s Efforts

South Africa began their chase sluggishly, with the Australian bowlers throttling their scoring rate. The team conceded just 22 runs in the Powerplay, and in-form Tazmin Brits was sent back to the dugout by the electric Darcie Brown. Laura Wolvaardt threatened to bring South Africa back into the game, hitting big shot after big shot to surge to 61 from 48 balls.

However, Megan Schutt removed Wolvaardt, and Jess Jonassen cleaned up Chloe Tryon as the required rate of scoring proved too much for South Africa in the death overs.

In conclusion, Australia’s win cements them as one of the best women’s cricket teams of all time. The team has plenty of talent, with five of the ten top-ranked batters in the game.

Beth Mooney and Ash Gardner excelled on this occasion. Mooney was deservedly named Player of the Match for her outstanding knock.

Lanning’s team continues to hold both the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup and the 50-over Women’s World Cup titles. They have won all three previous editions of this tournament and seven of the last nine major ICC World Cups.

Following this victory, the Australian team have become arguably one of the best women’s teams of all time across any sport.

Related Articles

Back to top button