Bangladesh Wins Even with an Unexpected No-Ball Call

All eyes were on Zimbabwe after their unexpected win against Pakistan. In the end, Bangladesh beat them by 3-runs. However, the way Bangladesh won in the final match left cricket fans confused. Initially, Bangladesh won by 4-runs. Then, the umpire caused a never-before-seen incident by deeming the final ball a no-ball and recalling the Zimbabwe batters to the pitch. 

What happened? To a regular viewer, it looked like Nurul Hasan completed a clear stumping of Blessing Muzarabani from the final ball of Musaddek Hossain’s over. When the umpires checked the replay, they confirmed that the Bangladesh wicketkeeper collected the ball a fraction ahead of the stumps.

While the Zimbabwe team got an extra run, Blessing Muzarabani lost their second chance by missing the ball. It did not help that Bangladesh had back-to-back wickets from consecutive balls at the death by Mosaddek Hossain. 

Throughout the game, several Bangladesh veterans showcased their skills with impressive runs and wickets. Zimbabwe did their best with a strong start, but with this second loss, their chances at the World Cup are slim. 

Unless they win against the Netherlands in Adelaide on Wednesday and manage to play their final Super 12 match against India at the MCG, the team will be out of contention. On the other hand, Bangladesh is now 2nd in the Group 2 standings, with 2 wins from 3 matches.

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button