BCCI Announces India Squad for WTC Final


BCCI Announces India Squad for WTC Final

235Views 2Likes

Cricket fans are buzzing with excitement as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced their squad for the upcoming World Test Championship (WTC) final against Australia at the Oval in June.

One of the most notable inclusions in the Indian squad is middle-order batsman Ajinkya Rahane. While he was dropped from the team last year after an underwhelming performance, he has earned a recall following his impressive form in the Indian Premier League Twenty20 tournament. The right-hander has been in scintillating form for the Chennai Super Kings, smashing 209 runs in just five innings at a staggering strike rate of 199.04.

Despite not featuring in any Test match in the last 15 months, Rahane’s experience could prove vital against a strong Australian side, especially given his leadership role in the historic 2020/21 Border-Gavaskar Trophy win.

🚨 NEWS 🚨#TeamIndia squad for ICC World Test Championship 2023 Final announced.

Details 🔽 #WTC23

— BCCI (@BCCI) April 25, 2023


Other Team India Members

Rahane is one of six specialist batters named in the squad, which also features the likes of Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul. However, some notable absentees include Jasprit Bumrah, who is still recovering from a back injury, and Rishabh Pant, who is recuperating from a car accident.

The Indian team will be led by Rohit Sharma, who has been in fine form with the bat and will also feature experienced campaigners like Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Mohammed Shami. KS Bharat and Jaydev Unadkat have also been included in the squad after featuring in recent Test matches for India.

Overall, the Indian team looks balanced and strong for the WTC final. The absence of key players like Shreyas Iyer and Jasprit Bumrah will be a blow, but the return of Rahane and Rahul will surely give the team a boost.

With the experience of senior players like Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin, and the emerging talent of Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur, India has a good chance of winning the WTC final and becoming the undisputed champions of Test cricket.

Other Teams and Details

On the other hand, Australia has already announced their squad for the WTC final, and it looks like they’re not taking any chances. David Warner has been included in the 17-player touring party for the ICC World Test Championship final against India at The Oval and the opening two Ashes Tests. Meanwhile, Pat Cummins will return to play the captain’s role for the squad after leaving the tour of India early to be with his sick mother.

The 17 players selected in the touring party will be available for selection in the WTC final against India and the opening two Ashes Tests at Edgbaston and Lord’s. The selectors will evaluate the makeup of the squad after the second Ashes Test, with the option to make changes for the remaining matches against England at Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval.

Exciting times lie ahead for cricket fans around the world. The final squad for the ICC World Test Championship will be named on May 28, and we can expect more thrilling cricket action to follow soon after. The World Test Championship final between India and Australia will begin on June 7th at The Oval, ten days after the IPL final.

Results of the Last Test

In the end, Khaled Ahmed was run out for a duck, and Nurul remained unbeaten on 60, short of his career-best by four runs. The West Indies openers John Campbell and captain Kraigg Brathwaite took just 17 balls to chase the 13 runs required to win.

Bangladesh faced their 100th test loss in cricket after a series that was dominated by the West Indies team. Bangladesh will be looking to bounce back in the upcoming three Twenty20s and three one-day internationals, which will start on Saturday. The West Indies team will be looking to continue their winning momentum in the shorter formats of the game.

This time around, fans can expect some intense and exciting cricket as both teams will be competing to win.


Latest News

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

Related Articles

Back to top button