Ben Stokes is Named Wisden’s Cricketer of the Year


Ben Stokes is Named Wisden’s Cricketer of the Year

42Views 0Like

England cricket captain Ben Stokes has been named the world’s leading cricketer by Wisden for the third time in four years. The 31-year-old all-rounder helped transform England’s fortunes in the Test arena and played a crucial role in their T20 World Cup final victory against Pakistan last November.

Stokes was joined on the list by fellow England players Ben Foakes and Matthew Potts, as well as New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell and Tom Blundell and India women’s captain Harmanpreet Kaur.

Wisden editor Lawrence Booth said Stokes had transformed his team’s fortunes with his forceful batting and bowling, singling out his series-turning century against South Africa in Manchester and his defining innings in the T20 World Cup final in Melbourne.

Stokes’s Achievements

Stokes took over the Test captaincy when England had only won one game in 17. Under his leadership, the team went on to win nine out of 10 games and became the first visiting side to win 3-0 in Pakistan. Stokes also played a crucial role in steering England to victory in the T20 World Cup with his defining innings in the final against Pakistan in Melbourne.

Booth commended Stokes and former New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum for their positive impact on Test cricket, comparing it favorably to the one-dimensional T20 format and the ever-growing march of franchises. He praised Stokes for his efforts to revive Test cricket and stressed the importance of preserving the sport’s diversity and identity.

The Latest on Stokes

Before the announcement of his award, Stokes made headlines for asking Australia that he had asked for “fast, flat wickets” to take the attack to the Ashes holders later that year. Stokes had hoped to lead England to their first Test series victory over Australia since 2015, and he had believed that pitch conditions would be crucial.

The all-rounder had wanted groundsmen at Edgbaston, Lord’s, Old Trafford, Headingley, and The Oval — the five venues staging Ashes Tests — to produce the kind of quick pitches that would allow England to use the aggressive game plan he had deployed with great success since taking over as captain.


Other Awardees

In addition to Stokes, it’s been announced that Australia’s Beth Mooney was named the leading women’s cricketer in the world for the second time in three years.

The Cricketers of the Year are selected by the Wisden editor, with performances in the English summer playing a significant role. This year’s winners included 24-year-old seamer Matthew Potts, who took 20 wickets in his first summer playing Test cricket for England and 30-year-old Ben Foakes, who excelled behind the stumps and with the bat.

Other winners included India’s Suryakumar Yadav, who was named the leading Twenty20 cricketer in the world, and England’s Jonny Bairstow, who received the new Wisden Trophy for the outstanding individual Test performance of the year, for his twin centuries in the record-breaking win over India at Edgbaston last July.

What to Know About the Wisden Cricketer’s Almanack

The Wisden Cricketer’s Almanack is a famous yearly book about cricket. It was started in 1864 by a former England cricketer named John Wisden and has been published every year since. This book is the most important and trusted reference source for cricket.

It has plenty of information like stats, reviews, and articles about the previous year’s cricketing events. The Wisden Cricketer of the Year awards, which honor the top five cricketers in the world, are also featured in the book. Cricket fans, coaches, journalists, and players use this book as a reference guide.


Latest News

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

Related Articles

Back to top button