David Warner is in Australia Squad for WTC Final


David Warner is in Australia Squad for WTC Final

157Views 0Like

David Warner has been selected for Australia’s squad for the World Test Championship (WTC) final and the first two Tests of the Ashes. The 36-year-old opener is making his comeback after withdrawing from the series against India due to an elbow injury.

Warner’s inclusion in the squad comes after he scored just one century for Australia since the start of 2021. His most recent tour of England during the 2019 Ashes saw him average 9.50.

The Australia squad also includes Mitchell Marsh, who has been recalled to the team for the first time since 2019. He is expected to act as backup for Cameron Green. George Bailey, the chair of selectors for Australia, said that not having Greeny during part of the India series highlighted the value of having that as a backup.

Bailey added that Marsh has performed well in the UK in the past and can add value to the team. He also confirmed Warner would open the batting against India in the match starting on 7 June, but he would not commit beyond that.

Warner will have a chance to rediscover his form in the one-off match against India at the Oval in June, but his place in the team for the series against England that follows remains uncertain.

Other Details on Australia’s Cricket Squad

Four players who faced India earlier this year – Peter Handscomb, Ashton Agar, Matthew Kuhnemann, and Mitchell Swepson – have been left out of the 17-member squad. Bailey stated that the changes to the team were based on the conditions expected in the UK.

With flat and fast pitches anticipated, Australia has named four fast bowlers – Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Scott Boland.

Sean Abbott and Michael Neser, two bowlers who have chosen to play in the County Championship for Surrey and Glamorgan, respectively, have not been included in the squad. However, Bailey stated that Australia would keep its options open for the remaining Tests.

They see value in revisiting the squad following the second Ashes Test, given the short turnaround between the WTC final and the first Ashes Test, along with the length of the tour.


What to Expect with the WTC Final

The WTC final against India is scheduled to take place at the Oval between June 7-11. Australia will need to announce a 15-man squad for the final by May 28. The first Ashes Test is scheduled to begin on June 16 at Edgbaston, followed by Lord’s from June 28 to July 2.

In summary, David Warner’s comeback after his injury and Mitchell Marsh’s inclusion in the team are the highlights of the Australia squad for the WTC final and the first two Ashes Tests.

The team selection is based on the anticipated conditions in the UK, with four fast bowlers named in the squad. Australia is keeping its options open for the remaining Tests. The WTC final is scheduled to begin on June 7.

Australia will reassess the squad after the second Ashes Test at Lord’s, with matches to come at Headingley, Old Trafford, and The Oval in July. The series against England begins at Edgbaston on June 16.


Latest News

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

Related Articles

Back to top button