De Bruyne,Halaand, Messi top UEFA Player of the year


De Bruyne,Halaand, Messi top UEFA Player of the year

123Views 0Like

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and Erling Haaland have been named as two of the three finalists for the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award. The third finalist is Lionel Messi, according to an announcement by the European football governing body on Thursday.

The Argentine captain who won the World Cup and now plays for Inter Miami is competing against his Manchester City colleagues De Bruyne and Haaland. Messi has previously won the UEFA award twice, both times when he was with Barcelona and the team was European champions. It’s worth noting that Manchester City secured the Champions League title in the previous season.

Meanwhile, Pep Guardiola is the frontrunner for the men’s coaching accolade following his guidance of Manchester City to victory in the Champions League, Premier League, and FA Cup. Other nominees include Simone Inzaghi from Inter Milan, who steered his team to the Champions League final, and Luciano Spalletti, credited with leading Napoli to the Italian league championship.

Despite scoring eight goals, the highest in the tournament, during last year’s World Cup, including three in the final against Argentina, Kylian Mbappé, who used to be Messi’s teammate at Paris Saint-Germain, secured the sixth position in the player voting conducted by coaches and journalists based in Europe.


A Showcase of Talent: Rohit’s Standout Performances

İlkay Gündoğan and Rodri, both midfielders for Manchester City, were placed ahead of Mbappé in the rankings. Rodri’s goal played a pivotal role in determining the outcome of the Champions League final. Among the players receiving votes, Marcelo Brozović from Inter managed to secure the eighth position. It’s worth noting that this Croatian midfielder has since transferred to the Saudi league.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Neymar, both of whom have also relocated to Saudi Arabia, did not receive any votes from the UEFA panel. This panel consisted of coaches from clubs that participated in the group stages of the three European competitions.

Roberto De Zerbi secured the fourth spot in the coaching vote, even though his Brighton team did not compete in any European tournaments. Brighton is set to make their Europa League debut next month after finishing sixth in the Premier League.

Among the ten coaches who received votes, Franck Haise, the leader of Lens which secured the second position in the French league, and David Moyes, the manager of Europa League Conference victors West Ham, were notable mentions.

The victors will be revealed during the Champions League draw scheduled for August 31st in Monaco.

The voting process for the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award involves several steps:

Shortlist Formation: The UEFA technical study group creates an initial list of players based on their performances for both their clubs and national teams throughout the 2022/23 season.

Jury Voting: Members of the jury, which includes the head coaches of clubs participating in the group stage of the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League, Europa League, or Europa Conference League, cast their votes. Each jury member selects their top three players and assigns them points: five points for their top choice, three points for the second choice, and one point for the third choice.

National Team Coaches: Head coaches of national teams from UEFA member nations also participate in the voting process. They follow the same points allocation system to select their top three players.

Journalist Involvement: A group of journalists chosen by the European Sports Media also take part in the voting process. Like the previous voters, they select their top three players and assign them five, three, and one point(s) respectively.

Player Exclusion: Coaches are not allowed to vote for players from their own team to maintain objectivity and fairness in the voting process.

After all the votes are collected, the points are tallied, and the player with the highest overall score is declared the winner of the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year Award.

UEFA has stated that the lists of candidates for the women’s player and coaching awards will be disclosed in the upcoming week following the conclusion of the Women’s World Cup. In the final match in Australia, England is set to compete against Spain on Sunday.


Latest News

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

– Advertisement –

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button